Overwatch 2 Preload Time and Overwatch Server Downtime

When does Overwatch 1 end and how long does Overwatch 2 preload? These are probably the questions on the lips of Blizzard FPS game fans. Widely hailed as one of the best multiplayer games on PC in its early years, the first Overwatch slowly saw a decline, stagnating with a lack of new hero and map releases as the development team focused on the following. Now, Overwatch 2’s release date is right around the corner – but before we get there, the first game will shut down early in preparation.

That’s right, once Overwatch 2 arrives, you won’t be able to play the original game. Luckily, you won’t have to redeem anything thanks to Overwatch 2’s free model, which the developers say made them much happier. However, you’ll need to unlock new heroes through the free Overwatch 2 battle pass track or by purchasing the premium track to get immediate access – and players getting into Overwatch for the first time with this new game will have to play. around 100 matches to unlock the entire base game cast.

These changes proved divisive within the gaming community, with some prominent members such as professional player, coach, and Overwatch commentator Jake ‘Jake’ Lyon. say that the free-to-play model is a necessity for the game to survive in a modern market and that “for the game to be successful in the long term, the monetization model must incentivize the speed of the new cycle of content and patches”. Others have expressed concerns about the apparent intention to force long-time players to spend more money to “stay competitive” by unlocking the latest heroes.

When does Overwatch 1 end and how long is the Overwatch server downtime?

Overwatch’s original end-of-service date is October 3. Servers are expected to go offline around 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST on October 3. Overwatch 2 servers go live on October 4. Service for Overwatch 2 is expected to begin around 12pm PT / 3pm ET / 8pm BST / 9pm CEST on October 4.

When can I preload Overwatch 2?

Overwatch 2 preload time is September 30 at 1:30 p.m. PT / 4:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 p.m. BST / 10:30 p.m. CEST for existing Overwatch PC users and Watchpoint Pack owners. Preloads for existing console users are scheduled to begin on October 4 at 9am PT / 12pm PT / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST. New PC and console players will have to wait for the launch on October 4 at 12pm PT / 3pm ET / 8pm BST / 9pm CEST.

Overwatch 2 install size should be around 50GB on PC and 30GB on consoles. You’ll also need an active Battlenet account and SMS protection enabled – this is part of Overwatch 2’s new “Defense Matrix” system designed to “fight disruptive behavior”. Blizzard also provided a Checking Overwatch 2 Availability to make sure you are up to date before release.

Blizzard says it hopes to see Fortnite-style Overwatch 2 crossovers in the future, and that new Overwatch 2 Mythic skins take over a year to make, but will be included in the battle pass rather than be sold separately to make them a central focus of each respective season. Be sure to take a look at our Overwatch 2 tier list when the game releases so you know who’s strong in the launch meta.

About Dorie Castro

Check Also

You can now play games in Microsoft Teams

If you are bored at work, you no longer need to stealthily distract yourself in …