District 196 to be represented at State Debate Tournament | Schools

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. – Twenty-two high school students from District 196 achieved top results in the Section 3AA Debate Tournament Jan. 7-8 at Eagan High School and qualified to compete in the state debate tournament. , which will be held online from January 14 to 15.

In the Lincoln-Douglas debate, students from District 196 won all six state qualifiers: John Schwartz of Apple Valley High School was sectional champion, Nora Bolsoni of Apple Valley was runner-up, Daniel Wochnick and Aerin Engelstad of Eagan High School were third and fourth respectively, and Cierra Phillips and Colin Duffy of Rosemount High School took fifth and sixth place respectively.

This year’s Lincoln-Douglas resolution is: “Resolved: The appropriation of outer space by private entities is unjust. Debaters should be prepared to discuss both the affirmative and negative sides of this topic.

In the political debate, District 196 students won three state qualifying spots: Eagan’s Eric Li and Archan Sen were section champions, Eagan’s Natu Daniel and Flynn Gray were runners-up, and Olivia Beyer and Doha Kassem of Rosemount took third place.

This year’s policy resolution reads: “Resolved: The United States federal government should significantly increase its protection of water resources in the United States.

In a public debate, District 196 students won three of the six qualifying spots: Eastview High School’s Isaiah Dalzell and Izhan Qureishy were section champions, Eastview’s Calen Hubbs and Malaya Galindez were runners-up, and Hari Gokul and Nina Mirfakhraie of Eagan finished in third place.

The resolution from this year’s public forum is: “Resolved: The federal government of the United States should legalize all illicit drugs.

In a congressional debate, four students from District 196 qualified for the state tournament at the qualifying event held at Eagan High in December: Allison Champ of Eastview was section champion, Olivia Noll of ‘Eagan was runner-up, Eastview’s Samrawit Tesfaye took third place and Abiha Kashif. d’Eagan finished fifth.

During debates in Congress, students debate a variety of bills and resolutions.

The head coaches for the debate in District 196 are Scott Voss at Apple Valley, Chris McDonald at Eagan, Cort Sylvester at Rosemount and Todd Hering, Zach Prax and Greta Thomas at Eastview.

This will be the 121st annual state debate tournament, the oldest event in the Minnesota State High School League.

About Dorie Castro

Check Also

NPA Wins Intra-Government Football Tournament – ​​FrontPageAfrica

monrovia– The National Ports Authority (NPA) won the football category of the intra-government tournament after …