A new year begins in paradise and resumes the PGA Tour season



Location: Kapalua, Hawaii

Course: Planting course in Kapalua. Yardage: 7,596. By: 73.

Prize money: $ 8.2 million. Winner’s Share: $ 1.476 million.

Television: Thursday-Saturday, 6 pm-10pm (Golf Channel); Sunday, 4-6 p.m. (NBC), 6-8 p.m. (Golf Channel).

Defending champion: Harris English.

FedEx Cup Leader: Talor Gooch.

Last tournament: Talor Gooch won the RSM Classic.

Notes: Phil Mickelson performs for the first time since 2001. By winning $ 8 million from the Player Impact Program, he has to add a new event to his schedule, and Lefty has chosen this one. … The 39 players are the most for a field of winners only. There were 42 players at Kapalua last year, but that included the winners of the PGA Tour and everyone who reached the Tour Championship. The one-time change was due to the season shortened by the pandemic. … Rory McIlroy is the only eligible player who skips the tournament. He begins his New Year in Abu Dhabi in two weeks. … The Americans have won the Tournament of Champions the last 11 times. This followed a nine-year streak of international laureates. … Xander Sc Chaudele’s last official victory on the PGA Tour was in Kapalua in 2019. He qualified this year by winning gold at the Olympic Games in Tokyo. … All but four players on the pitch have already qualified for the Masters. The exceptions are Joel Dahmen, Seamus Power, Branden Grace and Matt Jones. … Dustin Johnson is not eligible for the winners event for just the second time in his career.

Next week: Sony Open.

Online: https://www.pgatour.com/



Last tournament: Jin Young Ko won the CME Group Tour championship.

Next tournament: Hilton Grand Vacations Tournament of Champions January 20-23.

Winner of the CME Globe race: Jin Young Ko.

Online: https://www.lpga.com/



Last tournament: Thriston Lawrence won the Johannesburg Open.

Next tournament: Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship from January 20 to 23.

Leader of the DP World Tour: Thriston Lawrence.

Online: https://www.europeantour.com/dpworld-tour/



Last tournament: Phil Mickelson won the Charles Schwab Challenge.

Next tournament: Mitsubishi Electric Championship in Hualalai from January 20 to 22.

Charles Schwab Cup winner: Bernhard Langer.

Online: https://www.pgatour.com/champions.html


For more AP golf coverage: https://apnews.com/hub/golf and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. This website is not intended for users located in the European Economic Area.

Source link

About Dorie Castro

Check Also

Senegal vs Zimbabwe: CAN schedules, TV and how to watch online

The second generation known as “gold” from Senegal is running out of time. They arrived …